A weekend of ‘old school’ baking

As much as I love trying out all the inspiring and creative ideas I see come through daily on my Instagram feed, for me nothing beats classic bakes – I’m talking Victoria sponge, lemon drizzle, coffee and walnut cake, the list goes on…

This Sunday I was in my element as I baked a Carrot cake, lemon drizzle loaf cake and homemade short bread fingers. These are the kind of bakes that provide that amazing smell that quickly surrounds the house, when you’re willing the cakes to hurry up and bake so you can carry out the taste test!!

I combined two recipes for the Carrot cake, which I shall post later on in another blog post, as well as my fool – proof lemon drizzle loaf cake. BBC food provided the recipe for the short bread fingers which had a great crunch and that ‘melt in the mouth’ texture – I’d really recommend giving them a go. They’re so easy and quick to make and will seriously impress anyone popping over for a cup of coffee!

 

IMG_4118

Leave a Reply

