Recipe: Cupcakes

Okay, so this is more of a method than a recipe, but here I will let you in on my secret to perfect cupcakes every time!

When I first started baking, cupcakes were my go to bake – I made them all the time! I have tried many different recipes and methods over the years but still go back to the one that Granny ‘O’ taught me – and it is so simple!

Top Tips:

  1. My first top tip is to use a muffin tray rather than a cupcake tray – I find cupcake trays too shallow.
  2. For the same reason as above, use cupcake cases as opposed to fairy cake cases.
  3. I always use margarine (stork) instead of unsalted butter. Among all the testing I have done, I have tried with unsalted butter and although it gives a richer taste, I found the end result was ‘heavy’ cupcakes – not light and fluffy like they should be!

Ingredients / Method

  1. Pre heat oven to Gas Mark 4 / 180ºC / 160ºc fan
  2. To make 12 cupcakes, weigh 2 eggs (in their shells)
  3. Whatever the weight of these two eggs, weight the same amount of margarine, castor sugar and self raising flour.
  4. Beat together both eggs in a jug.
  5. Cream together the margarine and sugar until soft and ‘fluffy.’
  6. Add half of the beaten egg and half of the self raising flour and mix until combined.
  7. Add the rest of the egg and self raising flour and mix.
  8. Spoon equal amounts in to each cupcake case until all mixture is used.
  9. Bake on the middle shelf of your oven for 20 minutes.

I always used to make cupcakes the good old fashioned way – a big mixing bowl and wooden spoon! But, since I’ve had my trusted ‘Kitty the KitchenAid’ it’s equally as easy and quicker to whip up a batch of cupcakes in no time at all!

Leave a Reply

