Gluten Free Brunch

Happy Thursday everyone! A bit of a delayed post as I had been meaning to write this on Sunday but things just seemed to keep getting in the way!

We had a lovely morning on Saturday hosting Brunch for some friends of ours – I offered to host as I had Friday off work which meant I could do some baking for it! One of my friends is a coeliac so this always provides a little extra challenge when baking but I had decided I wanted to make blueberry and white chocolate muffins and chocolate chip cookies and set about making them both to be gluten free. I scoured the internet as I wanted to try and make them as naturally gluten free as possible – the muffins I succeeded, the chocolate chip cookies I resorted to using all gluten free ingredients but I have to say, you could hardly notice the difference!

Jamie Oliver provided the recipe for the blueberry and white chocolate muffins – the reason I chose these were because they only required 50g gluten free flour and the rest was made up of ground almonds (making them almost naturally gluten free!) The only problem I found with the recipe was the cooking time – the recipe says between 15 – 20 minutes but mine took almost an hour! The best way to make sure any cake/muffin is cooked, regardless of what the recipe says is to insert a skewer into the middle and if it comes out clean, it’s cooked! Overall, I was really impressed and I thought they tasted delicious (hopefully the others agreed!) Click here for the recipe if you want to have a go at making these.

On to the chocolate chip cookies. I personally find a lot of bakes using gluten free flour tend to be quite ‘powdery’ and a quick look through the internet for a good gluten free cookie recipe seemed to suggest a lot of people agreed with me! However, I did stumble upon a fab recipe from My Gluten Free Kitchen – I converted the recipe when I made them and typed it up using grams in case you want to give them a go too!

I finished off the brunch table with croissants and pain au chocolate (the only things that weren’t gluten free!) but bought some Genius GF pain au chocolate (which I am informed were very nice, especially cut open and spread with Nutella!!) and a bowl of fresh fruit. Tea, coffee and juice were added to the mix combined with great company made for a lovely Saturday morning brunch!

Gluten Free Chocolate Chip Cookies

Makes approximately 22 – 25 cookies

Ingredients:

  • 280g gluten free plain flour
  • 1/2 tsp xantham gum
  • 1 tsp bicarbonate soda
  • Pinch of salt
  • 50g cream cheese, room temperature
  • 170g unsalted butter, melted
  • 200g light brown muscavodo sugar
  • 100g castor sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 egg yolks, room temperature
  • 200g milk chocolate chips

Method

  1. In a medium sized bowl, whisk together flour, xanthan gum, bicarb and salt. Set aside.
  2. Using a stand mixer or by hand, mix together the cream cheese, melted butter, brown sugar and caster sugar – this will take about 2 minutes using the paddle attachment on a mixer or slightly longer by hand. It should end up all mixed together with the texture of a slightly runny caramel.
  3. Add vanilla extract and egg yolks and mix until well combined (if using an electric mixer, use a low speed)
  4. Add the flour mixture and beat until just combined.
  5. Add the chocolate chips and mix on low or by hand until mixed through.
  6. Cover the bowl and refrigerate for at least 4 hours and up to 4 days.
  7. When ready to bake, remove from refrigerator and let it sit at room temperature for 15 minutes to soften slightly.
  8. Pre heat oven to 375º / 190ºC / 170ºC fan / gas mark 5.
  9. Line a shallow baking tray with greaseproof / parchment paper.
  10. Use an ice cream scoop to scoop even amounts of cookie dough and place several inches apart on the tray (I managed to fit 7 on an large baking tray.)
  11. Bake the cookies for 12 minutes – the centres may look slightly underdone but they will continue to cook through as they cool.
  12. Let the cookies sit on the baking tray for 5 minutes before moving to a cooling rack to cool completely.

 

17362754_10154643901038422_6063503274173345613_n

2 thoughts on “Gluten Free Brunch

Leave a Reply

