Afternoon Tea at Chewton Glen

Now, as much as I love baking and the satisfaction I get from other people enjoying my latest creations, you still can’t beat sitting down with a cup of tea indulging in treats that have been made for you. This is the exact reason that I LOVE Afternoon Tea. A quintessential English tradition that combines tea, sandwiches, scones and a selection of mini cakes and pastries, what could be more perfect?!

I have been lucky enough to visit lots of wonderful places to enjoy Afternoon Tea and my most recent visit was to Chewton Glen Hotel in the New Forest. Now it’s fair to say that I have been slightly obsessed with this hotel since hearing about it so my Husband and decided to book a couple of days away for his Birthday at the beginning of February, and I can’t go to any hotel without sampling their Afternoon Tea!

Our table was booked for 3pm and we were shown through to a lovely light dining area with beautiful views of the grounds of the hotel. A lovely lady came over to introduce herself and explain the 9 different types of tea they offered. I’m afraid I’m not very experimental where tea is concerned so I opted for English Breakfast and Matt chose Early Grey.

We were then served a decision assortment of sandwiches:

  • Somerset brie and pear chutney
  • Smoked salmon with dill butter
  • Egg and watercress
  • Roast beef with horseradish sauce

They were all delicious but by far our favourite was Brie and Pear Chutney – a combination I had never tried together but worked perfectly. So much so, that I’m hoping to take some pears of my Grandma’s Pear tree when the time is right to make some Pear Chutney of my own!

Scones & Cakes:

  • Plain scone
  • Fruit scone
  • Lemon & poppyseed macaron with lemon curd filling
  • Miniature carrot cake topped with crushed pistachios
  • Salted caramel and chocolate tart
  • Miniature cupcake with raspberry buttercream

Everything was absolutely delightful and the service was outstanding. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Chewton Glen to anyone, either for a scrumptious Afternoon Tea, a luxurious stay or an indulgent Spa Day. They have incredible spa facilities and if you’ve got an extra special occasion to celebrate or just fancy treating yourself, you can even stay in a Treehouse overnight! Head over to their website: http://www.chewtonglen.com to see what else they have to offer!

16508118_10154519041493422_431925430931619931_n

Leave a Reply

