Wedding Cake

What better way to start my first blog than to write about my proudest baking achievement…my Wedding Cake.

Right at the beginning of planning our Wedding, Matt suggested that it would be nice for me to make our Wedding Cake. “Are you joking” I thought – I have done a lot of baking, including making my eldest Brother’s Wedding Cake several years ago, but making my own cake whilst planning our Wedding seemed completely off the radar. How would I possibly have time or be able to create something that I had a picture of in my head and make it come true? Anyway, the more I thought about the idea, the more appealing it became. We had seen a picture of a design we both really liked and as it was relatively simple I agreed, on two conditions: Firstly, I would have a practice run of all four tiers and assembling it and secondly, I would take 3 days off of work before hand to allow me time to make it. So, we set to planning it – we wanted four tiers, all with different flavours (just to make it that little more challenging…!) and decided on the bottom tier as a traditional fruit cake, third tier – vanilla sponge with strawberry jam and vanilla butter cream filling, second tier – lemon sponge with lemon curd and lemon butter cream filling and the top tier would be a gluten free carrot cake. They were all to be plain white iced and each tier would be separated with fresh roses.

Our Wedding was May 2016 so I decided Christmas 2015 would be the perfect time for a trial run meaning we could use the bottom tier (fruit cake) as the Christmas Cake – perfect! I made the fruit cake/Christmas cake in the October half term (as I have done ever since I was little when I used to help our neighbour make their Christmas cake) and laced it every other week with a small amount of Brandy. Then I set aside one weekend of baking – Friday night/Saturday morning to make all the cakes then Sunday to go round Matt’s parents house as although I was making the cake, Matt’s Mum, Diane would be setting it up on the morning of the wedding as she would be doing the flowers for it. I was relieved once the weekend was over that everything had gone according to plan and in the time scale I had given myself, so I was relatively confident now that ‘all would be alright on the night’ so to speak. As those of you who have planned a Wedding know, time flew by and before I knew it, it was the Wednesday before the Wedding and the time had come to start baking. Mum had promised me she would be with me “first thing” to be on hand for washing up – well by the time I had baked (and washed up!) from making the first two cakes, Mum arrived and promptly made me make her a cup of coffee before we started!! By the end of the day, the 3 sponge cakes were baked (I had made the fruit cake a couple months in advance) and I was ready for the challenge of icing (my least favourite part of cake making) on Thursday. To my amazement, by Thursday lunch time I had finished icing all the cakes, ready for having my nails done that afternoon! The car journey to our Wedding Venue on the Friday was nerve racking – although each tier was in it’s own separate box, I did have to stop myself from asking my Dad to stop the car every time we went over a slight bump to check on the cakes! We arrived at Tylney Hall safe and sound and cakes in tact and all that was left was to leave them out ready for Diane to come in the morning to assemble it.

It is, by far, the biggest baking challenge I have ever taken on but I’m extremely proud of it and so pleased that Matt persuaded me to do it! Here’s a picture of it in all it’s glory, photographed by our wonderful Wedding photographers – Lily Bean.Bex & Matt Wedding 397.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

